Composer Posters

Okay, so these really aren’t posters, just 8 1/2 x 11 pictures of composers. I hang the composers of the month for the year in my studio. Your can even splurge like I did, and get frames for them at the Dollar Store. They look great on photo paper, just be sure to set your printer for borderless printing.

Is there a composer would like that isn’t listed? E-mail me and I’ll do one up for you – they take less than 5 minutes to do.

BeethovenBach Barber Bartok Beach Beethoven Bernstein Boccherini Brahms Chopin Clementi Copland Couperin Debussy Dvorak Ellington Elton John Gershwin Grieg Handel Haydn Heller Herman, Jerry Holst Ives Joplin Kabalevsky Kander and Ebb Kuhlau Liszt Mahler Lully Mendelssohn, Fanny Mendelssohn, Felix Mozart Pachelbel Palestrina Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff Ravel Rimsky-Korsakov Rodgers, Richard Rossini Saint-saens Scarlatti Schoenberg Schubert Schumann, Clara Schumann, Robert Sibelius Sousa Stalling Strauss Stravinsky Tchaikovsky Telemann Verdi Vivaldi Wagner Webber Williams, John

46 Responses

  1. When I click on Dvorak, I always get Gershwin?

  2. Fixed it! Thanks for letting me know!
    D’Net

  3. Hi,

    These pictures are wonderful – thanks for sharing. One thing I have noticed is that you have designated Bartok Bela as Russian. He was born and worked in Hungary most of his life. Also, thanks for assigning Hungary to Liszt. Too often people say that he was Austrian.

  4. I fixed the Bartok picture. Thanks for letting me know!
    D’Net

  5. Some great resources here – thanks. But wouldn’t you know it the composer I’m looking for is Debussy and it ‘can’t be found’. Maybe just a link that needs to be fixed or something.

  6. Dubussy is up now. Thanks!

    D’Net

  7. These are fantastic! Thanks for making my next bulletin board for me! How about adding a few more contemporary muscal theatre composers, like Andrew Lloyd Webber, Elton John, Kander and Ebb, Jerry Herman, etc? Thank you so much!

  8. When I click on either of the Schumanns, I get Robert’s picture. Is there a picture of Clara available? Thanks again!

  9. The Schumann’s are fixed, and I did up posters for the other composers you mentioned. Have fun with your bulletin board!

    D’Net

  10. I’m trying to create a very easy version of one of J.S. Bach’s pieces for my students. It’s a very famous one- the MInuest in G, but it’s interesting that the book says in the front that it’s J.S. bach’s piece and on the actual music it says “from the notebook of Anna Magdalena BAch.” I know that she wrote music also. so, was she the composer or were JS’s music found in her notebook? Do you know?
    Thanks- lisa

  11. The Minuet in G was included in the Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook, and for years has been attributed to Bach. Research has shown that the pieces were actually composed by Christian Petzold, however. Bach included his own works as well as pieces by other composers in the AMB Notebook. Hope this helps!
    D’Net

  12. Hi,
    I am trying to download the picture of Handle, and a window pop out and said “file is damaged, cannot be repair” can you please fix it for me, cause we have Handle as composer of the week. Thanks.

  13. The Handel opens for me when I click on it. Weird. E-mail me at dnetlayton@yahoo.com and I’ll send you the picture. Hopefully that will work!

    D’Net

  14. Hi D’net,
    Thanks, it is wroking now.

  15. Hi,

    I have been enjoying the posters in my classroom. My “Composer’s Corner” is looking quite stylish! Could you make up a Bizet and a Kodaly? Is it also possible to put the birth and death dates on the posters? Either way, thank you for sharing these.

    Kathy

  16. These are perfect — I was just about to order some online that didn’t look nearly as good! We do one composer a month and it will be a big help to have a visual to go along with what they’re learning. Thanks! I am getting some GREAT ideas from your site!

  17. These are absolutely amazing, D’Net!

    I’m getting ready to do a unit on composers, and you have all of the ones I need except for Mahler, Schoenberg and Bernstein… Would it be possible to get these? I’ve tried making posters before but they never turn out as well as yours! :)

    Your site is marvelous! Thank you for sharing your resources with us!

  18. Mahler, Schoenberg, and Bernstein now done, and ready to add to your collection. I’m glad you are enjoying the site!

  19. Love these pictures! How about Prokofiev?

  20. Hi,

    Pls. include Sergie Rachmaninoff in your list especially the poster. I really appreciate it so much. Thanks and looking forward to hear from you soon.

  21. Hi D’Net,

    Thanks for all the wonderfull composers poster. Do you have Jeremiah Clarke picture?
    Thanks.

    Samantha

  22. These are wonderful! Could you do one for Purcell, please?

  23. These are fantastic! My class is studying Peter and the Wolf. Would you be able to put up Prokofiev?

    Thanks!

  24. I am THRILLED to have stumbled onto this site! These composer cards are beautiful. I truly appreciate your willingness to share them with us…brava! Will you please make cards for Alma Mahler, Carl Orff, Stephen Foster, and Zoltan Kodaly? Thank you so much!

  25. These are awesome! Could you add Leroy Anderson and William Grant Still? Thanks!

  26. Thank you! If you have time, here’s a list of other composers, not yet listed above, that we cover in Music for Young Children: Linda Niameth, Christopher Norton, Maya Badian, Jeremiah Clarke, Stephen Foster, Paderewski, Edward MacDowell. The students would love to see their pictures too.

  27. I have noticed that the Beethoven poster had his full name as ‘Ludwig Von Beethoven’. I am wondering whether the common ‘van’ should replace ‘von’ instead…

  28. Thank you, thank you, thank you…..just what I was looking for to put on the walls of my music room : )

  29. I just sent you an email requesting one for Danny Elfman. :) Hammerstein would be great, also, now that I’m thinking of more!

  30. Thankyou! Could you make Glenn Miller please?

  31. Hi, is it possible to have a poster for Elgar? A fantastic resource thanks!!

  32. I do consider all of the concepts you have introduced to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for beginners. Could you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  33. Thank you very much. We are studying John Williams this summer.

  34. Is it possible to have a picture of Vaughan Williams and Lassus? These are perfect for the music memory list!! I love them :)

  35. Hi, I love the composer posters. They are extremely useful in my teaching. Could you kindly make one on Leroy Anderson? Thank you very much.

  36. How about Lassus and Vaughan Williams? Please :)

  37. Great ressource! Thank you! Would it be possible to get the posters with just the name of the composers? I teach in a french school and we are not allowed to have any posters with English on them, hence my request. Thank you so much.

  38. Love your site! Have you thought about adding some of the “other” Bach composers? JC, WF, CPE?

  39. Could you please add Bizet, Orff, Ponce, and Puccini? Thanks so much! These are such great posters for music classrooms and are greatly appreciated! Erin S

  40. Could you please add Bizet, Orff, Ponce, and Puccini? Thanks!

  41. These are great! Thanks for sharing!

  42. If anyone needs Bizet, Orff, Ponce, and Puccini for the 2013-14 Music Memory, please email me at erin.stevenson@comcast.net. They’re not exactly like D’Net’s but really close.

  43. Love your composer posters. Could you please add Francis Scott Key?

    Thank you,
    Sherri

  44. Thank you so much! I was searching for part of a day for composer posters and most of them are terribly expensive or I couldn’t find all the ones I wanted in the same style. I found all of them that I wanted and more! Thank you thank you!

  45. Johnny and June? Loretta Lynn? I’m trying to do some American song writers. Thank you for all the resources. You’re a life saver.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

