Interval Cards

Here is a set of 30 interval cards. There are cards with 3, 4, and 5 notes on a staff. There are no clef signs, so cards can be used right side up and upside down. This came from Mary Gae George’s Teaching Music Note Notes DVD. She has students look at the cards for a few seconds. She then takes the card away, and students tell her how many notes, say the interval size and direction in rhythm, then all possible finger number combinations the notes can be played with. Thanks to Gail from pianoteaching.com for this great idea!

Interval CardsInterval Cards

 

 

 

 

6 Responses

  1. Hi D’Net. Thanks for this resource. I was wondering if you used the macfonts site to do these interval flashes. Can you scale them to different sizes? I would like to get the software, but it’s important that it has this feature. I want to create some with a clef, and some without, like you have here. Thanks.

  2. Yes, I used the macfonts for these. You can change them to different sizes, simply by changing the font size. Very, very simple to do.

  3. Thanks, D’Net. I have been using the macfonts. It was a great recommendation. I also use the Bach font for rhythms. I’m not too wild about macfonts in that regard, because the stem length is not standard, and I don’t feel this is beneficial to students when I am teaching them about correct stem length. Thanks again.

  4. These cards look like something that I could use to help my daughters and my students. I wish there were 2-4 on each printed page. Seems like a lot of paper to use 30 full pages. Is there a way I can set up the printing to put 2 on each page (in portrait orientation). Or maybe cards like these are available somewhere else that print 2 or 4 per page. Thanks for your input.
    Amy

  5. Hmm, I must have had a request that they be full page. I did mine 2 per page, and printed on fromt and back, so it didn’t take nearly as much paper. To do this, click print, page scaling, and choose multiple pages per sheet. It’ss give you several options to choose from.

    Hope that makes sense. Let me know if it doesn’t work for you.

  6. Thank you! Exactly what I wanted to do, I just didn’t know how to accomplish it!! I appreciate all that you’ve created and shared!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

