Technique Achievement Poster

My good friend Claire showed me a wonderful technique chart she had made for her studio.  I liked the idea so much I made a poster for my own studio.  I LOVE it!  When a student masters a scale, they earn a foil star in the corresponding box.  Different colors of stars represent various levels.  For example, red stars for pentascales, blue stars for 1 octave scales, and so on.  Since only the major keys are listed at the top of the chart, we use small dot stickers inside the stars to show the minor key has been learned. 

I can tell at a glance where an individual student is and what technique they are working on.  Students are actually excited to do their scales, because they earn a point for each star, and seeing the progress of other students keeps them motivated.  My chart also has spaces for local MTA events that the students have participated in. 

I thought it would be nice to modify the chart for general use.  The major and minor keys are listed across the top, and the left column is blank for student names.  Version 1 has a key similar to what I use in my studio, telling what colors of stars represent each skill level.  The second chart has no key, so you can use it however you would like.

The chart will print on 4 sheets of paper, and will be about 15×19 when finished.  Trim the paper at the crop marks, mount on a half sheet of poster board, and you’re ready to go. 

Note: when the picture is clicked, lines are missing on the chart.  Click on the words, and your chart will look and print as it should.

Tech Chart 1Technique Poster 1

 

 

 

 

 

Tech 2Technique Poster 2

 

 

4 Responses

  1. Thank you for this! I printed it out and have been using it for a couple weeks. The students love to see their progress.

  2. I am so glad that your students are enjoying the chart. It is amazing how simple things keep them motivated!

  3. I, too, have been using this with students and they seem to really enjoy watching each others’ progress as well as their own. This is a fun way to keep up with a challenge!

  4. What a wonderful way to jump-start the new school year! Every week my students run up to it to track their friends’ progress. It’s been a huge motivational tool, even with the adult students! And I’m amazed that even those few kids who “hate piano” like to see their achievement.

Leave a Reply

