Sandpaper Flashcards

Wow, it has been awhile since I have posted! I have been busily working away at many things, but most of them have not been piano related.  🙂

sandpaper

Anyway, here is something I have been wanting to post for awhile. This is an idea from A Galaxy of Games for the Music Classroom.  These are just plain old flashcards with basic symbols, right? Well, not exactly. I laminated the red cards, cut the symbols out of fine-grit sandpaper, and glued them to the cards. The treble clef could have been tricky to cut, but since the sandpaper is rough anyway, I just cut right through the straight line part of the clef to cut the curves. When glued to the card, you can’t even tell!

After a beginning student has learned the various symbols, I tell them we are going to have a test, and they have to name all of the symbols. They usually ace right through that, so I tell them that I need to make it really hard. They have to identify the symbol with their eyes closed. I love their reaction to that! They close their eyes and identify what is on each card simply by touch. What a fun way to reinforce learning!

Here is the pattern I used to cut the shapes out of sandpaper.

7 Responses

  1. D’Net, this is such a great idea and very well done. All children learn in different ways, so using all the senses is one more way to reach students.
    -Susan P.

  2. I love this idea D’Net! This would also be a great way to reinforce the notes on the staff! Feeling the note on which line or within which space. Hmmm…

  3. Ooh, that’s a great idea! it wouldn’t be very hard to do, either. I may just have to go get some more sandpaper… 🙂

  4. Oh my! This is how my own son learned his letters at the Montessori kindergarten.
    Brilliant!!
    Thanks.
    Carol

  5. I enjoy reading your post as you share lots of creative and useful piano teaching resources as well as those related ideas and interesting activities that we can use today. I like your idea on coming up with innovative and creative flashcards with symbols – nice one there. I appreciate your creativity and resourcefulness; I must say that it is a gift, a talent and a skill that not all music teachers have. 🙂 Keep up the good work and more power. Til your next posts! See you around.

  6. I have really enjoyed looking at your blog, as well as all the creative and fun activities you arrange for your students to do! This is an excellent activity, particularly for kinesthetic learners. Thanks!

  7. Cool! A good way to sharpen your scissors, I guess! lol Would it work to have kids trace the symbols with glue and then pour sand on it?

Leave a Reply

