Basketball – My Way

This is one of my most popular activities with my piano students – especially my elementary aged boys. 

First they pick a card.  Today, we were doing pentascales, so we used the Alphabet Flash Cards

a1

 After a card is drawn, the student runs over to the piano, and playes the pentascale.  We always chant “tonic, whole, whole, half, whole” during this process. 

a2

If the student is successful, I toss them the basketball, and they get to take a shot in my $2 thrift store basketball hoop.  Then, they run across the room, draw another card, and do it all over again.

a3

This game could be modified many ways.  Students could draw note flashcards, play full scales, or even something as simple as identifying the letter names of the keys.  Any way you play it, it is loads of fun!

3 Responses

  1. What a fun idea!

  2. This is a great activity to also motivate my student. I will indeed try this out. Thanks for sharing these music teaching tips. Hope you continue to write other helpful stuffs here in your site.

  3. I have one of those hoops and now I finally know what to do with it!

Leave a Reply

