Halloween Games

There has been some great discussion on the Yahoo Piano Teachers list about games for Halloween.  Well, thinking up games is much more fun than completing the homework for the class I need to renew my teaching certificate, so here you are! 

The first game is Trick or Treat.  Print off the Pumpkin Rhythm Cards, and place in a Halloween candy bucket.  If the student picks a rhythm, it is a “trick” and they must clap it correctly.  If they draw out a pumpkin that is says “treat” they get to pick a treat from the candy stash.  If you want to, you can print the reverse side on the back of the pumpkin cards, making for games that are a bit more commercial-looking.  That way, when you cut them out there will be an image on the front and back of each card.  There is also a blank pumpkin page so you can customize the game.

Pumpkin Rhythm Cards

Pumpkin Cards – Blank

Pumpkin Cards – Reverse Side

The next game is Candy Corn Note Match. Cut apart all of the sections, and have the students match up the note on the staff, note on the keyboard, and letter name. This can be done individually or in groups, and can be competitive or not in nature. Once again, there is a blank Candy Corn page if you’d like to make your own game. I think it would be great for terms – the abbreviation, Italian word, and definition.

Candy Corn Note Match

 Candy Corn Blanks

Now, I’m going to finish writing about the Flores Consent order and Lau vs. Nichols. Really. No more procrastinating…at least for today! 😉

24 Responses

  1. Hey D’Net,

    These are great! Thank you so much for sharing. I am always inspired by your ideas. I made a snowman game with note names (on my website) after your ice cream cone games were such a hit! But, I know what you mean about the creation of these games as procrastinating. 🙂 Thanks again for procrastinating for our benefit!

    Wendy

  2. These are great ideas! You sure know how to come up with great ideas!
    -Susan

  3. Hi D’Net,

    This is really fun. I remember last year you had some pumpkin related games too. I have too many students who aren’t ready to play any Halloween songs. Playing these games could participate in the studio Halloween spirit. Thanks!

    BTW, what teaching certificate are you studying for? Is it for a teaching credential?

    Lydia

  4. Glad that you all like the games. I was reading on another website about the trick-or-treat game, and thoght that would work great for a piano game. Amazing where we can find inspiration!

    I am taking a class to get my AZ teaching certificate renewed. I let it expire when I had 3 little kiddos in diapers and was up with screaming children all night. Renewing it wasn’t exactally a priority. I had to take 2 tests that cost $200 and this $300 class to get it renewed. I’ll never let the darn thing expire ever again…

  5. Just what I needed today! Thanks so much for your creativity!

  6. My students and I are having a lot of fun this week with the Pumpkin cards. Thanks so much!

  7. Thanks for sharing, I procrastinated my group lesson for tomorrow and this will be perfect!
    Thanks again

  8. Thank you so much for these, I am a new group music teacher and your games are wonderful! I love this website. Thanks for your help!

  9. These are darling. I have started planning my upcoming halloween group classes and these games will come in handy. What a life-saver you are. Thanks for sharing!

  10. These are great — I have several students for whom I’m always looking for new note reading games. I would like to see the rest of the staff notes done this way!
    Thanks for sharing your great ideas

  11. Hi – I love the candy corn game. But could you make a plain outline in B & w so I can print out for them to paste the cut out corns onto. I used the blank colored one but printed it in B&W but it still takes more ink than just an outline would.
    Thanks.
    Wilma Hawkins

  12. […] rhythm we moved on to notes. First I had each group put together the candy corn note match puzzles created by D’Net Layton. I timed each group on how fast they could correctly put them all […]

  13. […] the way, D’Net’s blog has some cute Fall games you might enjoy.  There is a Trick-or-Treat rhythm game and a Candy Corn Match […]

  14. […] “Halloween Games” by D’Net Layton. The pumpkin rhythm cards are printable or can be projected on screen, in a powerpoint/keynote, or in an IWB software file to be made interactive.  Though this is coming from a piano teacher blog, it can be adapted to a music classroom where the awards of candy could be replaced with something else from being a leader of the next music game, etc. […]

  15. […] cute candy corn notes from D’Net at Layton Music are sure to get your students in the mood for Halloween.  My students really enjoyed this […]

  16. These are great but they aren’t printing correctly. Help!!!!!!!

  17. Thank you!!! Just sent off to the printer – fun!

  18. Thank you so much for sharing!! – from South Korea

  19. […] I didn’t have dancing in the lesson plan for my older group, but some broke out when I turned on some background music (Ghostbusters, Addams Family, Cha Cha Slide) while pairs of students were competing for the fast time in Candy Corn Match from Layton Music. […]

  20. […] Candy Corn Note Names and Trick-or-Treat Pumpkin Rhythm Cards from Layton Music. […]

  21. That’s since when you guess and reprise you improve your likelihood of winning the jackpot.

  22. […] Candy Corn Note Names and Trick-or-Treat Pumpkin Rhythm Cards (Layton Music) […]

  23. […] used D’Net’s fun candy corn note id activity with some of my students to see how quickly they could match up the note on the keyboard […]

Leave a comment