Tic -Tac-Toe Game and Variations

These are the first of the soon-to-be many tic-tac-toe variations. I love the idea of using tic-tac-toe instead of Bingo cards, since it is much faster to get through a game. Perfect for an off the bench activity during a lesson. There are 12 different cards in each set, making them ideal for group or individual lessons.

Directions for Tic-Tac-Toe (2 players)

  1. Print out the cards
  2. Print 2 copies of the last page (the answer cards,) each on a different color of paper. Green and blue, for example.
  3. Give each student a set of the colored answer cards. Two students play on the same “master board.”
  4. All of the answer cards are face up. Student #1 picks a green answer card and places it on the corresponding square. Student #2 picks a blue answer square and places it on the square. Continue in this manner until one of the students has three in a row of their color.

Variations:

  1. Play the same way with the answer cards face down. If a student picked one that their opponent already had on the game board, they would just draw again. This would make it more random.
  2. Play like a traditional Bingo game, with each student having their own card and bingo chips. The teacher has the “answer” cards and calls out the notes. This is a good alternative to a bingo game with 25 squares, because it can be played much faster.

Thanks to Sharon for this great idea!

Tic-Tac-ToeLandmark Tic-Tac-Toe
Middle C Position Tic-Tac-Toe
Note Name Tic-Tac-Toe (Low C to High C)
Key Signature Tic-Tac-Toe

11 Responses

  1. Hi, I really love the idea of this game but for some reason i just cant wrap my head around how to actually play it!! i would really appreciate it if you could write some step by step instructions for the tic-tac-toe challenged

    thanks

  2. I added directions above. Let me know if you have any other questions!

    D’Net

  3. thanks!!!! my little brain is having a much easier time understanding these great instructions now

    I’m sure i’ll have heaps of fun playing these games

  4. This is tremendous D’Net! Wish I was as computer savvy. You are so amazing to share your hard work! We played this today and really loved how on the random game it made it more difficult to have a quick winner or even a winner at all. we discovered that the Key of D needs different sharp placement on the bass clef and that the Key of Cflat needs different flat placement in the treble clef just in case you have need to fix it in the future. Thanks again for your fabulous site!

  5. Hi, Kim! I’m glad that you and your students liked the game. Thanks for pointing out the mistakes – they should be all fixed now, but let me know if I missed one.

    Thank You!
    D’Net

  6. Hi D’Net,

    I just wanted to say thank you for putting all of these wonderful resources online. You are so creative and these ideas help me so much when I am planning group lessons.

    Thank you, thank you!

    Kathryn

  7. This site is incredible! I can’t thank you enough! So many wonderful activities and songs for beginners…I’ll be sharing this with every teacher I know!

  8. Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful ideas. This site is amazing!!

  9. […] Tac Toe as described by D’Net at the Layton Music Games and Resources […]

  10. […] you’re visiting Layton Music, check out her rules to a musical version of Tic-Tac-Toe. She has a variety of concepts that this game can include: key signatures, land-mark notes, note […]

  11. Another favorite variation of this game that I like to play with my students is “Don’t Eat Pete.”

Leave a comment